ARTISTS    GALLERY    EXHIBITIONS   CONTACT

IBU GALLERY

 

FR / EN

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  CHUNG HYUN

CHUNG Hyun has been working with materials such as railroad tracks, telephone poles, steel, and industrial by-products like asphalt concrete in road paving which he uses to express various shapes and forms. The human figures he creates are far from traditional realist sculptures where appearances and emotions are expressed realistically. He eliminates these aspects and uses coarse and basic shapes to emphasize the symbolic power inherent in the solidity of the material itself.

 

A Man Standing is an artwork in which the railroad sections are pieces that no longer serve a purpose and have been roughly cut away. These are materials that have endured the environment’s process of erosion over a long period. They invoke a wide range of meanings relating to the passage of time, invariability, history and its testimonies, pain, resistance, and endurance. Thus, A Man Standing portrays a “universal form of humans living in the present after tolerating long periods of hardships, foreseeing the future, and going beyond time.”

 

"A Man Standing”, 48 sculptures exhibited in the jardin du Palais-Royal, April 30 – September 18th, 2016, exhibition organized in partnership with Ministère de la culture et de la communication, Centre des monuments nationaux, ART PARIS ART FAIR 2016 and l’Institut Français, année France-Corée 2015-2016

 

Drawings made of tar and charcoal, IBU GALLERY, April 30 – May 28, 2016

ARTISTES    GALERIE    EXPOSITIONS   CONTACT

IBU GALLERY

 

FR / EN

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chung Hyun fait appel à des matériaux tels que des morceaux de fer, des poteaux télégraphiques ou d’autres matériaux industriels comme le bitume ; au moyen desquels il crée et exprime des formes. Les figures humaines qu’il façonne sont très loin des rendus réalistes traditionnels qui reproduisent l’apparence et l’émotion du corps. Il élimine justement tous ces aspects, et utilise des formes brutes et basiques pour souligner la puissance symbolique du matériau lui-même.

 

L’Homme Debout est une œuvre réalisée à partir de traverses de chemin de fer qui n’ont plus d’utilité et ont été dépecées grossièrement. Elles ont subi de longues années d’érosion et d’usure. Leurs surfaces « écorchées » évoquent de nombreux messages liés au passage du temps, à l’immuabilité, à l’histoire, aux témoignages, à la douleur, à la résistance et à l’endurance. C’est par cela que L’Homme Debout est emblématique « d’une forme universelle de l’être humain qui vit dans le présent après avoir survécu de longues périodes de dureté, qui envisage l’avenir et va au-delà du temps.

 

 

 

"L’homme debout", 48 sculptures exposées dans le jardin du Palais-Royal, 30 avril – 18 septembre 2016, exposition organisée par IBU GALLERY, en partenariat avec le Ministère de la culture et de la communication, le Centre des monuments nationaux, ART PARIS ART FAIR 2016 et l’Institut Français dans le cadre de l’année France-Corée 2015-2016

 

Dessins au charbon et au goudron, IBU GALLERY, 30 avril – 28 mai 2016

 

 

 

 

 

CHUNG HYUN